NOTE: This house is a private residence. Please do not disturb. In the 1890s, Frank Root, a senior member of his father’s music publishing firm, moved into 326 Essex Road. The house was designed in 1892 by Franklin Pierce Burnham, supposedly with the support of Daniel Burnham (no relation), who could not commit to the entire project because of his ongoing work on Chicago’s 1893 World’s Fair. Records mention that the pillars flanking the entrance to the home were from the site of the World’s Fair and had been supplied by Daniel Burnham to the Root family. The Classic Revival home is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and exemplifies some of Franklin Burnham’s typical architectural style.
Franklin Burnham was appointed the Kenilworth Company architect in 1890, before the village was even incorporated, so that the town would establish a particular style and manage the village’s early development. Burnham designed many of the earliest residences and public structures, including the Kenilworth train station. Bob Spindell, who grew up at 326 Essex, completed a massive restoration of both the interior and the exterior of the home in 2003, bringing much of the house to its original look.
As you explore Chicago during OHC, please wear a face covering, maintain at least six feet of distance from others and do not attempt to enter any buildings.